Steve Earle & The Dukes - Ghosts Of West Virginia

Limited Blue & Gold Coloured Vinyl LP Record

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Ghosts Of West Virginia is the 20th studio album by American roots singer songwriter Steve Earle, released in May 2020 via New West Records.

Ghosts of West Virginia centres on the Upper Big Branch coal mine explosion that killed twenty-nine men in that state in 2010, making it one of the worst mining disasters in American history.  When asked about what drove him to craft his deeply evocative new album, Steve Earle says, “I thought that, given the way things are now, it was maybe my responsibility to make a record that spoke to and for people who didn’t vote the way that I did,” he says. “One of the dangers that we’re in is if people like me keep thinking that everybody who voted for Trump is a racist or an asshole, then we’re fucked, because it’s simply not true. So this is one move toward something that might take a generation to change. I wanted to do something where that dialogue could begin.”

In ten deftly drawn, roughly eloquent, powerfully conveyed sonic portraits, Earle and his long-time band the Dukes explore the historical role of coal in rural communities. More than merely a question of jobs and income, mining has provided a sense of unity and meaning, patriotic pride and purpose.

“I said I wanted to speak to people that didn’t necessarily vote the way that I did,” he says, “but that doesn’t mean we don’t have anything in common. We need to learn how to communicate with each other. My involvement in this project is my little contribution to that effort. And the way to do that – and to do it impeccably – is simply to honor those guys who died at Upper Big Branch.”

The album was produced by Steve Earle and engineered by Ray Kennedy at Jimi Hendrix’s legendary Electric Lady Studios in New York City. The 10-song set is Earle’s 20th studio album and was mixed entirely in mono, lending a sonic cohesion and punch. In recent years, Earle has experienced partial hearing loss in one ear and can no longer discern the separation that stereo is designed to produce.

The recording features his latest incarnation of his backing band The Dukes; Chris Masterson on guitar, Eleanor Whitmore on fiddle & vocals, Ricky Ray Jackson on pedal steel, guitar & dobro, Brad Pemberton on drums & percussion, and Jeff Hill on acoustic & electric bass.

This album is a limited edition in mono on 150 gram blue with yellow gold marble coloured vinyl, pressed in the US via New West Records.








Heaven Ain't Goin' Nowhere



Union, God And Country



Devil Put The Coal In The Ground



John Henry Was A Steel Drivin' Man



Time Is Never On Our Side



It's About Blood



If I Could See Your Face Again



Black Lung



Fastest Man Alive



The Mine


SKU 607396540310
Record Label New West Records
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number NW5397
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 22 May 2020
Original Release Date (Year) 22 May 2020
Barcode # 607396540310
Shipping Weight 0.2700kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 150 Gram Blue & Yellow Gold Coloured Vinyl, Mono
Vinyl Colour Blue
Genre Country

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category