Deap Lips - Deap Lips

Heavyweight Black Vinyl LP Record + Download

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Deap Lips is the debut studio album by American rock band Deap Lips, released in March 2020 via Cooking Vinyl.

Deap Lips is a new team-up between California rock & roll duo Deap Vally (Lindsey Troy & Julie Edwards) and Oklahoma psych- heroes The Flaming Lips (Wayne Coyne & Steven Drozd). The new outfit will release their highly anticipated, self-titled Deap Lips album on 13 March 2020.

The seeds of Deap Lips were first planted years ago, when Troy and Edwards each fell in love with the music of the Flaming Lips. The Lips' 1999 classic The Soft Bulletin is one of Edwards' top ten of all time. "You can listen to their entire catalogue and the experience is so intact, full of experiments, philosophy, hooks, and the sublime," says Edwards. "There are very few artists who can offer the same experience on a decades-spanning deep dive."

Flash forward to 2016 as Deap Vally were touring with Wolfmother and Coyne turned up at a show in Raleigh (Edwards was on maternity leave at the time). Wayne, in town scouting the best edible giant gummy props, came for the show and Troy and Coyne were introduced after the set.

After that chance meeting, Coyne started following Deap Vally on Instagram and would tag them in random posts of the Lips in the studio, much to their delight and amusement. Deap Vally wondered: is Wayne hinting at a collaboration?

They had this theme on the brain as Edwards and Troy had recently embarked on a series of yet to be released collaborations with the likes of KT Tunstall, Peaches, Jamie Hince (The Kills), Soko, Jenny Lee (Warpaint), Jennie Vee (EODM), Zach Dawes (Queens of the Stone Age, Mini Mansions), and Ayse Hassan (Savages).

A plan was soon made for Deap Vally to travel to Oklahoma City to write and record at the Lips’ Pink Floor Studios and the rest is history.

This album is on heavyweight black vinyl with a printed inner sleeve and download code, pressed in Europe via Cooking Vinyl.







Home Thru Hell


One Thousand Sisters With Aluminum Foil Calculators


Shit Talkin'


Hope Hell High


Motherfuckers Got To Go


The Pusher


Love Is Mind Control


Wandering Witches


Not A Natural Man


There Is Know Right There Is Know Wrong

SKU 711297525618
Record Label Cooking Vinyl
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number COOKLP756
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 27 March 2020
Original Release Date (Year) 27 March 2020
Barcode # 711297525618
Shipping Weight 0.3100kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, Heavyweight Black Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve, Download Code
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock & Popular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category