Wings - At The Speed Of Sound

Double Album 2LP 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Edition

Imported by Captain Stomp

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Wings At The Speed of Sound is the fifth studio album by British rock band Wings, originally released in March 1976 via Capitol Records.

Wings At The Speed of Sound was recorded and released in the midst of a large world tour as the follow-up album to the popular Venus and Mars album.

It is the band's only album where every member sings lead on at least one song.

After a series of concerts in Australia in November 1975, Wings took a break from the tour to spend the holidays with their families and in January 1976 booked time at Abbey Road Studios in London to record Wings At The Speed of Sound. It was the first time McCartney had recorded an album in England since Red Rose Speedway. Because of the tour commitments, Wings were not afforded the opportunity to record in another locale. By the end of February, the album was complete, and Wings went back on the road.

Around the time of the studio sessions for Wings at the Speed of Sound, McCartney was facing criticism for Wings simply being a vehicle for himself. He encouraged each of the band members to contribute a song during the sessions, though this would become one of the reasons for the criticism of the album. McCartney had previously attempted to create a democratic album in Red Rose Speedway, though it would be rejected by his record label.

Engineer Peter Henderson later commented, "I remember one of my first engineering jobs, working with Paul McCartney on Wings at the Speed of Sound — he'd do two vocal takes and ask, 'Which is the better one?' And when he played guitar, he'd really lean into it and give it everything he got." Two tracks ("The Note You Never Wrote" and "Warm and Beautiful") were arranged by Fiachra Trench.

Wings At The Speed of Sound was released in late March 1976 and received somewhat lukewarm critical reviews. Rolling Stone's reviewer saw this record as something of a concept album, describing it as "A Day with the McCartneys". The introduction, "Let 'Em In", is sometimes perceived as an invitation for the listener to join the McCartneys on this fantasy day, with explanation of their philosophy ("Silly Love Songs"), a lunch break ("Cook of the House"), and a chance to get to know McCartney's friends (Denny Laine in "The Note You Never Wrote", Jimmy McCulloch in "Wino Junko", etc.).

The album went to number 2 in the United Kingdom (and was the 4th best-selling album of 1976). It became McCartney's most successful American chart album, spending seven unconsecutive weeks at number 1 throughout the summer (and blocking the Beatles' then-new compilation Rock 'n' Roll Music, which reached number 2). Wings at the Speed of Sound sold 3.5 million copies worldwide.

In Australia, the album peaked at #2 and went to #1 on the US Billboard 200 Albums chart.

Much of the album's success can be attributed to its two smash singles. "Silly Love Songs", a response to his critics and one of McCartney's biggest hits, followed the album in April, and became one of 1976's biggest-selling singles. This was followed in July with "Let 'Em In", which also scaled the singles charts. Amid all this, Wings finally went to North America for the Wings Over America Tour, playing McCartney's first shows there in ten years (after The Beatles' last tour in 1966) to euphoric reaction; a few selections from Speed of Sound were included.

Wings band member Denny Laine covered "Time to Hide" and "The Note You Never Wrote" in 1996 on his album Wings at the Sound of Denny Laine.

Wings members that Recorded At The Speed Of Sound were:

  • Paul McCartney - vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars, keyboards, double bass
  • Linda McCartney - vocals, keyboards
  • Denny Laine - vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars, piano, harmonica
  • Jimmy McCulloch - vocals, acoustic, electric and bass guitars
  • Joe English - vocals, drums, percussion

The album was produced by Paul McCartney.

This Limited Edition Vinyl release is part of the Paul McCartney Archive Collection Series, released in October 2014.

This Double Album 2LP Record set is on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl housed in a Gatefold Sleeve with Inner Sleeve, replicating the original artwork, newly remastered at Abbey Road Studios and includes rare and previously unreleased tracks on Side C with Side D etched with the cover art, plus a digital download voucher, pressed in Europe.





Original Album Remastered:


Let 'Em In



The Note You Never Wrote



She's My Baby



Beware My Love



Wino Junko



Silly Love Songs



Cook Of The House



Time To Hide



Must Do Something About It



San Ferry Anne



Warm And Beautiful




Bonus Audio:


Silly Love Songs (Demo)



She's My Baby (Demo)



Message To Joe



Beware My Love (John Bonham Version)



Must Do Something About It (Paul's Version)           



Let 'Em In (Demo)



Warm And Beautiful (Instrumental Demo)



Front Cover Image Etching (No Audio)

SKU 888072356740
Record Label MPL Communications
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number HRM-35674-01
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 30 October 2014
Original Release Date (Year) 26 March 1976
Barcode # 888072356740
Shipping Weight 0.7000kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.316m
Shipping Length 0.317m
Shipping Cubic 0.001001720m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Double Album 2LP on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl with Gatefold Sleeve, Digital Download, Remastered Audio at Abbey Road Studios, Original Album plus Rare & Previously Unreleased Material
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock & Popular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category