Various Artists - The World Is A Monster: Lonesome, Blue And Jump Jivin’ Hillbillies From The Columbia Vault

Limited Random Coloured Vinyl LP Record

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

The World Is A Monster: Lonesome, Blue And Jump Jivin’ Hillbillies From The Columbia Vault is a compilation album of country, folk and bluegrass music by Various Artists, released in October 2019 via Iron Mountain Analogue Research.

This album is from the people who brought you Hillbillies In Hell. Out of the ashes of World War II, post-war Corporate U.S.A would sully its hands with anything in search of a buck. Even Hillbilly music...

Here, reissued for the first time, are 18 of the grimiest, most delicious slabs of Hillbilly misery, debauchery and mayhem to grace the Columbia Records imprint. From the dusty Rhinestone Noir of Rocky Porter's "The World Is A Monster" and Johnny Bond's "All I Can Do Is Cry" to the strident defiance of Polly Possum's "Don't Talk To Me About Men" and the feral cowpoke racket of The Maddox Brothers "Ugly And Slouchy."

Years in the making - 'The World Is A Monster' presents 18 timeless paeans to dissolution, absolution and wanderlust - swinging, celebratory Honky Tonk odes and maudlin tear-in-your-beer-jerkers. Remastered with love and care from the original tapes in a deluxe collector's edition with rare photos and memorabilia. A forgotten cache of subterranean 78s and marginal 45s - some of these sides are impossibly rare and are reissued here for the very first time. All for your guilty listening pleasure. "SEE Johnny Bond wander lost highways in ALL I CAN DO IS CRY! "HEAR Rocky Porter's profound torment in THE WORLD IS A MONSTER! "WITNESS Jack Rhodes grapple with the abyss in ETERNITY!

This album is a Limited Edition Deluxe Gatefold LP with exclusive scholarly liner notes! Full dynamic range 2019 remasters direct from the first generation analogue master tapes! Limited to 500 copies - 250 (randomly inserted) 'Belly of The Beast' Red LPs / 250 (randomly inserted) 'Hell Mouth' Black LPs!

This album is a limited edition of 500 copies with randomly inserted coloured vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve and OBI strip, pressed in Australia via Iron Mountain Analogue Research.








The World Is A Monster

Rocky Porter


All I Can Do Is Cry

Johnny Bond and His Red River Valley Boys


Beer Bottle Mama

Andy Reynolds & His 101 Ranch Boys


I’m Playing It Cool

Neal Jones


Pick Up Blues

Johnny Hicks’ Country Gentlemen


What A Line

Carl Story


Rainy Night Blues

Johnny Hicks


I’m The Devil Who Made Her That Way

Bobby Lord


Don’t Talk To Me About Men

Polly Possum And Joe Wolverton With The Dog Patch Boys


Me And My Big Loud Mouth

Little Jimmy Dickens


Ugly And Slouchy

The Maddox Brothers & Rose


I Can’t Keep The Girls Away

Billy Walker


A Shot In The Dark

George Morgan


Here Kitty Kitty

Jimmy Murphy


(Give Me A) Red Hot Mama And An Ice Cold Beer

Smiley Maxedon


Throwing My Life Away

Jack Rhodes & His Lone Star Buddies



Jack Rhodes & His Lone Star Buddies


When The Sun Goes Down

Rose Maddox

SKU 0934334408341
Record Label The Iron Mountain Analogue Research Facility
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number IMAR120LP
Country AU - Australia
Release Date (Year) 11 October 2019
Original Release Date (Year) 11 October 2019
Barcode # 0934334408341
Shipping Weight 0.3100kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, Random Coloured Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, OBI Strip, Limited to 500 Copies
Vinyl Colour Coloured
Genre Country

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category