U2 - Songs Of Innocence

Limited Double 2LP White Vinyl LP, EU Pressing

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Songs Of Innocence is the thirteenth studio album by Irish rock band U2, originally released in September 2014 by Island Records.

No other rock band does rebirth like U2. No other band believes it needs rebirth more and so often. But even by the standards of transformation on 1987's The Joshua Tree and 1991's Achtung! BabySongs Of Innocence - U2's first studio album in five years - is a triumph of dynamic, focused renaissance, Tracks of straightforward rapture about the life-saving joys of music, drawing on U2's long palette of influences and investigations of post-punk rock, industrial electronics and contemporary dance music.

Songs Of Innocence is aptly named, after William Blake's 1789 collection of poems about man's perpetually great age of discovery – childhood.

Where the U2 of the '90s looked forward, the 2014 U2 were looking back, aware of a legacy that includes decades of arena-filling anthems, the deliberate reinvention of Achtung Baby, and their initial inspiration from the great spark of punk rock.

On Songs Of Innocence U2 have taken the long way 'round to metamorphosis: turning back and inward, for the first time on a whole record, to their lives and learning as boys on the way to uncertain manhood (and their band) in Dublin.

Bono's lyrics are striking in their specific, personal history. In "Cedarwood Road", named after a street where he lived, he remembers the fear and unrequited anger that drove him to music and to be heard – and which won't go away. "Raised By Wolves" is a tension of metronome-like groove and real-life carnage based on a series of car bombs that bloodied Dublin one night in the Seventies.

In "Iris (Hold Me Close)", Bono sings to his mother, who died when he was 14, through a tangle of fondness and still-desperate yearning, in outbreaks of dreamy neo-operatic ascension over a creamy sea of keyboards and Clayton's dignified-disco bass figure.

For U2, and Bono in particular, the first step on the road out of Dublin was the sound of a voice, and they name it in the opening track, "The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)". U2 have always been open in their gratitude to New York punk and the Ramones in particular, and this homage to unlikely heroism – that kid you least expect to take on the world and win – is suitable honour. U2 also pay due diligence to the Clash in "This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now", dedicated to Joe Strummer.

These are the oldest stories in rock & roll. Adolescent restlessness; traumatic loss; the revelation of rescue hiding in a great chorus or power chord. But Songs Of Innocence is the first time U2 have told their own tales so directly, with the strengths and expression they have accumulated as songwriters and record-makers.

Check out the tracks: “The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)”; “Every Breaking Wave” and “Song For Someone”.

This Limited Edition double LP housed in a gatefold sleeve is pressed in Europe on white vinyl with Side D at 45 RPM.








The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)



Every Breaking Wave



California (There Is No End To Love)



Song For Someone



Iris (Hold Me Close)






Raised By Wolves



Cedarwood Road



Sleep Like A Baby Tonight



This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now



The Troubles



The Crystal Ballroom (12” Mix)


SKU 602547048882
Record Label Island Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 4704888
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 10 October 2014
Original Release Date (Year) 09 September 2014
Barcode # 602547048882
Shipping Weight 0.6100kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Double Album 2LP Records, White Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Side D 45 RPM
Vinyl Colour White
Genre Rock
Genre Pop Rock
Genre Classic Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category