Townes Van Zandt - Sky Blue

Limited Australian Only Deep Blue Vinyl LP Record

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Sky Blue is a posthumous album by American singer songwriter Townes Van Zandt, released in March 2019 via Fat Possum Records.

Sky Blue is a collection of unreleased songs by one of the most celebrated songwriters of the twentieth century. This album is a time capsule that Townes Van Zandt created forty-six years ago, and has only now just been unearthed and opened to find the treasures inside.

These tracks sound both fresh and familiar to even the most avid fans. Sky Blue includes eleven unreleased recordings made in early 1973 with the late Bill Hedgepeth, a journalist, musician, and most crucially a close friend of Townes. The singer-songwriter was splitting his time between Texas, Colorado, and a shack outside Franklin, Tennessee: an itinerant life that informed many of his most famous and beloved tunes. Throughout his life he would often return to Hedgepeth’s home studio in Atlanta, later with family in tow, to record, re-work, and experiment with new songs as well as old favourites.

These versions of “Pancho & Lefty” and “Rex’s Blues” show these songs as early drafts: raw, sorrowful, and as stunningly moving as he ever was, full of clean flat-picking and adept flourishes in just the right places. He emerges as a master of economic songwriting and playing, providing all that’s needed and nothing more, confident that his ideas and emotions would come through more clearly for being so judiciously understated.

In addition to a handful of old favourites, Sky Blue also includes two new songs that have never been heard before, ”All I Need” and “Sky Blue”, as well as covers of songs by Richard Dobson and Tom Paxton. There is a smoky version of “Blue Ridge Mountain Blues” and a scarred and scarring interpretation of “Hills of Roane County,” an East Tennessee murder ballad from the 1880s that was popularized by Tony Rice. Van Zandt performs them deftly, sings them intuitively, and displays his delightfully twisted sense of humour on the devious “Snake Song” and the vicious “Dream Spider.”

Conceived by Townes’ surviving family (his wife and literary executor Jeanene, along with his children, J.T., Will, and Katie Bell) Sky Blue sounds like an entirely new album rather than a reissue of old recordings. That’s how urgent and invigorated these performances sound, offering a revealing glimpse into Townes’ process, the evolution of his songs as well as the myriad versions he had in his head.

This album is an Australian only limited edition on deep blue coloured vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve, pressed in Australia via Fat Possum Records.








All I Need



Rex's Blues



The Hills Of Roane



Sky Blue



Forever, For Always, For Certain



Blue Ridge Mtns. (Smokey Version)



Pancho & Lefty



Snake Song



Silver Ship of Andilar



Dream Spider



Last Thing On My Mind


SKU 767981170640
Record Label TVZ Records
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number FP1706-1
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 07 March 2019
Original Release Date (Year) 07 March 2019
Barcode # 767981170640
Shipping Weight 0.3200kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, Deep Blue Coloured Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Limited to 1500 Copies
Vinyl Colour Blue
Genre Country

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category