Toto - Toto XIV

Limited Edition Double Album 2LP on 140 Gram Vinyl

Imported by Captain Stomp

RRP $59.90
SAVE $8.98 (15%)
In Stock
The album cover has a couple of bends in the top left hand corner and a small seam split on the top of the sleeve. Photos attached for reference.

Calculate Shipping

Toto XIV is the 14th album (13th studio album) by the American rock band Toto, released in March 2015 via Frontiers Records.

Toto is an American rock band formed in 1977 in Van Nuys in Los Angeles. The band's current lineup consists of Joseph Williams (lead vocals), David Paich (keyboards, vocals), Steve Porcaro (keyboards), Steve Lukather (guitars, vocals), plus touring members Leland Sklar (bass) and Shannon Forrest (drums). Toto is known for a musical style that combines elements of pop, rock, soul, funk, progressive rock, hard rock, R&B, blues, and jazz.

David Paich and Jeff Porcaro had played together as session musicians on several albums and decided to form a band. David Hungate, Steve Lukather, Steve Porcaro and Bobby Kimball were recruited before their first album release. The band enjoyed great commercial success in the late 1970s and 1980s, beginning with the band's eponymous debut released in 1978. With the release of the critically acclaimed and commercially successful Toto IV (1982), Toto became one of the best-selling music groups of their era. They are best known for the Top 5 hits "Hold the Line", "Rosanna", and "Africa". Several changes to the lineup have been made over the years. 

The album Toto XIV marks the return of Joseph Williams on lead vocals, Steve Porcaro on keyboards, and David Hungate on bass. Toto XIV is the first album with Keith Carlock on drums, replacing Simon Phillips, the longstanding successor to original drummer Jeff Porcaro who died in 1992. It is also the first studio album since 1982's Toto IV not to feature longtime bassist Mike Porcaro, who died 5 days before the release of the album due to complications from ALS.

Toto XIV is the first album of new material since the 2006 album Falling In Between. The band  personally considers the new album to be the true follow-up to Toto IV, which made the band global superstars.

Keyboardist Steve Porcaro reveals, "This is opposite of going through the motions. We are treating this like it is Toto V, our follow-up to Toto IV. We just want to be the best version of ourselves that we can be. Be true to ourselves and make the best music we can. Entertain people which is what we were put on this Earth for." Keyboardist David Paich reflects, "I think of Toto as a unit and a band that carries a responsibility when it goes out there in to the public consciousness. There is so much negativity and darkness that I think you have to be as Quincy Jones puts it, 'beams of light that blast through the darkness'".

Guitarist Steve "Luke" Lukather offers, "When you put us in a room, and everybody brings in their pieces, the next thing you know it all fits together. Everybody's performances are top
notch. We are really bringing our best out, forcing ourselves to make personal best choices, what's best for the music. I'm really excited to hear what people think." Singer Joseph Williams adds, "We are talking about a band where everybody is a writer, and everybody is a lead singer, and everybody is a player. All involved brought this trio to the table where it could just live on its own."

Founding bassist David Hungate returns to the fold, about whom Luke simply offers, "No one plays like David Hungate." Michael McDonald contributes backing vocals to a number of tracks on the album.

The sessions were co-produced by CJ Vanston, David Paich, Steve Lukather, Joseph Williams and Steve Porcaro.

Check out a couple of tracks from the album:  Orphan, Holy War and Burn and a video about the making of the album.

Toto XIV was ranked Number 24 in Classic Rock Magazine's 2015 Top 50 Albums Of The Year List.

Classic Rock's year-end summary review raved about the album "...its consummate mix of progressive rock, jazz, pop, soul and blues set the connoisseurs drooling. On standout track Great Expectations, a cinematic masterpiece full of verve and virtuosity, the veterans were at the top of their game."

This is a Double Album 2LP Record set on 140 Gram Black Vinyl housed in a Gatefold Sleeve, pressed in Europe.






Running Out Of Time






Holy War



21st Century Blues









The Little Things



Unknown Soldier (For Jeffrey)          



All The Tears That Shine






Great Expectations


SKU 8024391068250
Record Label Frontiers Records
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number FR LP 682
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 20 March 2015
Original Release Date (Year) 20 March 2015
Barcode # 8024391068250
Shipping Weight 0.4700kg
Shipping Width 0.008m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000789000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Double Album 2LP on 140 Gram Vinyl with Gatefold Sleeve
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock & Popular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category