The Polyphonic Spree - Yes, It's True

Limited 180 Gram Coloured Vinyl LP Record + Download

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Yes It’s True is the fifth studio album by American choral progressive rock band The Polyphonic Spree, released in August 2013 via Good Records, Kirtland Records in the US and Cherry Red in the UK.

The Polyphonic Spree formed in 2000 by founding member Tom DeLaughter with a number of other musicians exploring the orchestral and choral pop music palettes of bands he had grown up with such as The Beatles, The Beach Boys, Black Sabbath, Electric Light Orchestra, The Association and The 5th Dimension.

The band started out performing in their signature white choral robes and included an eclectic mix of musicians including flute, trumpet, French horn, trombone, strings, bass, drums, percussion, keyboards and EWI (electronic wind instrument). Around 20 members perform in the band and a large number of musicians have come and gone from the group over the years, including St. Vincent (Annie Clark) who has embarked on a successful solo career.

They have released four studio albums, which include one holiday themed (Christmas) album.

They have adopted a unique track numbering style commencing with their debut album The Beginning Stages Of… (2002), with track Number one starting with “Section 1”, and continuing in sequence across the subsequent albums Together We’re Heavy (2004), The Fragile Army (2007) and Yes, It’s True (2013).

Yes, It’s True continues with their trademark soundscapes, however the songs are tighter and more focussed compared to their previous albums. The opening track “Section 33 (You Don’t Know Me)” marches out with a strong percussive rhythm backed by the choral voices and woodwind and brass instruments. “Section 34 (Popular By Design)” continues the marching rhythmic beat with a brass opening riff to drive the song, with a catchy chorus. “Section 41 (Raise Your Head)” is one of the strongest songs on the album taking the band to rhapsodic heights showing that The Polyphonic Spree are on a mission of hope and spreading good vibes.

This is a wonderful album and adds to the band’s body of quality work. This one of “The Captain’s” favourite bands to emerge in the 2000s.

Check out the tracks:  Section 41 (Raise Your Head)”; “Section 40 (Let Them Be)”; “Section 33 (You Don’t Know Me (Live))”; and “Section 34 (Popular By Design)”.

This limited edition LP record is on 180 gram coloured vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve with inner sleeve and digital download code, pressed in the US.








Section 33 (You Don't Know Me)



Section 34 (Popular By Design)



Section 35 (Hold Yourself Up)



Section 36 (Carefully Try)



Section 37 (You're Golden



Section 38 (Heart Talk)



Section 39 (Blurry Up The Lines)



Section 40 (Let Them Be)



Section 41 (Raise Your Head)



Section 42 (What Would You Do?)



Section 43 (Battlefield)


SKU 186535007834
Record Label Kirtland Records
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number KR-78V/GRR 27
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 06 August 2013
Original Release Date (Year) 06 August 2013
Barcode # 186535007834
Shipping Weight 0.3900kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Coloured Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Printed Inner Sleeve, Digital Download Code
Vinyl Colour Coloured
Genre Rock
Genre Psychedelic Rock
Genre Progressive Rock
Genre Indie Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category