Sinéad O'Connor - I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got

180 Gram Vinyl LP Record Reissue + Digital Download

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

I Do Not Want What I Haven’t Got is the second studio album by Irish singer-songwriter Sinéad O’Connor, originally released in March 1990 by Ensign Records.

I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got became O’Connor's popular breakthrough on the strength of the stunning Prince cover "Nothing Compares 2 U", which topped the pop charts for a month. But even its remarkable intimacy wasn't adequate preparation for the harrowing confessionals that composed the majority of the album.

Informed by her stormy relationship with drummer John Reynolds, I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got lays the singer's psyche startlingly and sometimes uncomfortably bare. The songs mostly address relationships with parents, children, and (especially) lovers, through which O’Connor weaves a stubborn refusal to be defined by anyone but herself. In fact, the album is almost too personal and cathartic to draw the listener in close, since O’Connor projects such turmoil and offers such specific detail.

Her confrontational openness makes it easy to overlook O’Connor's musical versatility. Granted, not all of the music is as brilliantly audacious as "I Am Stretched On Your Grave," which marries a Frank O'Connor poem to eerie Celtic melodies and a James Brown "Funky Drummer" sample. But the album plays like a tour de force in its demonstration of everything O’Connor can do: dramatic orchestral ballads, intimate confessionals, catchy pop/rock, driving guitar rock, and protest folk, not to mention the nearly six-minute a cappella title track.

What's consistent throughout is the frighteningly strong emotion O’Connor brings to bear on the material, while remaining sensitive to each piece's individual demands. Aside from being a brilliant album in its own right, I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got is evidence that, when on top of her game, O’Connor was a singular talent.

Check out the tracks: “Nothing Compares 2 U”; “Jump In The River”; “The Emperor’s New Clothes” and “Three Babies”.

This LP Record is a "Vinyl Collector" series reissue on 180 gram vinyl with remastered audio, printed inner sleeve, and digital download code, pressed in Europe. 








Feel So Different



I Am Stretched On Your Grave



Three Babies



The Emperor’s New Clothes



Black Boys On Mopeds



Nothing Compares 2 U



Jump In The River



You Cause As Much Sorrow



The Last Day Of Our Acquaintance



I Do Not Want What I Haven’t Got


SKU 0825646089505
Record Label Chrysalis Records
Label / Model # Warner
Catalogue Number 0825646089505
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 15 September 2015
Original Release Date (Year) 20 March 1990
Barcode # 0825646089505
Shipping Weight 0.3000kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve, Digital Download Code, Remastered Audio, Reissue, Cut from 2009 Remastere, "Vinyl Collector" Series
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Pop Rock
Genre Folk Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category