Pink Floyd - The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn

2016 Remaster on 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn is the debut studio album by the British progressive rock band Pink Floyd, originally released in August 1967 via EMI Columbia Records in the UK.

Pink Floyd were founded in 1965 by students Syd Barrett on guitar, Nick Mason on drums, Roger Waters on bass, and Richard Wright on keyboards. They gained popularity performing in London's underground music scene during the late 1960s, and under Barrett's leadership released two charting singles Arnold Layne and See Emily Play, and their successful debut album, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn in 1967. Guitarist David Gilmour joined in December 1967 and Barrett left in April 1968 due to deteriorating mental health. 

The Piper at the Gates of Dawn is the only album made under founder member Syd Barrett's leadership. The album, named after the title of chapter seven of Kenneth Grahame's The Wind in the Willows and featuring a kaleidoscopic cover photo of the band taken by Vic Singh, was recorded from February to May 1967 and released on 5 August 1967. It was produced by Beatles engineer Norman Smith and released in 1967 by EMI Columbia in the United Kingdom and Tower in the United States, in August and October respectively.

Two of the album's songs, Astronomy Domine and Interstellar Overdrive, became long-term mainstays of the band's live setlist, while other songs were performed live only a handful of times.

Since its release, the album has been hailed as one of the best ever psychedelic rock albums.

In 1973, it was packaged with the band's second album, A Saucerful of Secrets, and released as A Nice Pair to introduce new fans to the band's early work after the success of The Dark Side of the Moon.

In 2012, The Piper at the Gates of Dawn was voted 347th on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the "500 Greatest Albums of All Time".

The cover photograph was taken by Vic Singh with a prism lense that had been given to him by George Harrison from The Beatles. The cover for the album was one of several Pink Floyd album covers used on a series of Royal Mail stamps issued in May 2016 to commemorate 50 years of Pink Floyd.

In May 2016 it was announced that the complete Pink Floyd catalogue would be made available on vinyl for the first time in over two decades, with the first four studio albums being released on 3 June 2016. Special care has been taken to replicate the original packaging. The first batch of releases, mastered by James Guthrie, Joel Plante and Bernie Grundman have been pressed on 180gram vinyl for optimum sound quality.

This LP Record is the 2016 Stereo Remastered Album on 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, pressed in the U.S.






Astronomy Dominé



Lucifer Sam



Matilda Mother






Pow R. Toc H.



Take Up Thy Stethoscope And Walk             



Interstellar Overdrive



The Gnome



Chapter 24



The Scarecrow





SKU 888751841819
Record Label Pink Floyd Records
Label / Model # Sony
Catalogue Number PFRLP1
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 03 June 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 04 August 1967
Barcode # 888751841819
Shipping Weight 0.2800kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000985960m3
Type New
Format Pink Floyd Records 2016 Reissue Series, Stereo Remastered Album on 180 Gram Vinyl
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Progressive Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

We Also Recommend

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category