Nico - Chelsea Girl

180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP Record + Digital Download

Imported by Captain Stomp

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Chelsea Girl is the debut solo studio album by German singer-songwriter Nico, originally released in October 1967 via Verve Records.

After collaborating as a singer with the Velvet Underground on their debut The Velvet Underground & Nico (recorded during 1966, released in March 1967), Warhol superstar Nico toured with the band in Andy Warhol's Exploding Plastic Inevitable (EPI) multimedia roadshow. Before the EPI came to an end in 1967, Nico took up residence in a New York City coffeehouse as a solo folk chanteuse; accompanied in turn by acquainted guitarists, such as Tim Hardin, Jackson Browne and Leonard Cohen, and also her Velvet Underground bandmates Lou Reed, Sterling Morrison and John Cale.

Some of her accompanists wrote songs for her to sing, and these form the backbone of Chelsea Girl. Browne and Hardin contributed some songs, "Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams" by Lou Reed was part of the earliest Velvet Underground repertoire (which did not surface as a Velvet Underground recording until it was included in the 1995 box set Peel Slowly and See), and Reed, Cale and Morrison in various combinations contributed four more songs. Additionally, Bob Dylan gave her one of his songs to record: "I'll Keep It with Mine".

Musically, Chelsea Girl can be described as a cross between chamber folk and 1960s pop. The musical backing is relatively simple, consisting of one or two guitars or, alternatively, a keyboard instrument, played by either Browne or (a combination of) her Velvet Underground colleagues, but there are no drums or bass instruments, hence the absence of Velvets drummer Maureen Tucker, and adding to the chamber folk feel of the music are the string and flute overdubs added to the initial recordings by producer Tom Wilson and arranger Larry Fallon without involving or consulting Nico.

In retrospective 21st century reviews AllMusic feel the album is "an unqualified masterpiece".  However, Nico herself was dissatisfied with the album. Looking back in 1981, she stated: “…I still cannot listen to it, because everything I wanted for that record, they took it away. I asked for drums, they said no. I asked for more guitars, they said no. And I asked for simplicity, and they covered it in flutes! [...] They added strings and – I didn't like them, but I could live with them. But the flute! The first time I heard the album, I cried and it was all because of the flute…”.

This LP record is a “Back To Black” 2018 reissue on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl with a digital download code, pressed in Europe.








The Fairest Of The Seasons



These Days



Little Sister



Winter Song



It Was A Pleasure Then



Chelsea Girl



I'll Keep It With Mine



Somewhere There's A Feather



Wrap Your Troubles In Dreams



Eulogy To Lenny Bruce


SKU 602557813951
Record Label Verve Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 00602557813951
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 06 April 2018
Original Release Date (Year) 01 October 1967
Barcode # 602557813951
Shipping Weight 0.3000kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000985960m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Original Album Artwork Replicated, Reissue, Digital Download Code, "Back to Black" Series
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock & Popular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category