Megadeth - Rust In Peace

Limited Edition 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl LP Reissue

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Rust In Peace is the fourth studio album by American metal band Megadeth, originally released in September 1990 via Capitol Records.

In 1990, Rust In Peace became the last word in state-of-the-art thrash metal, thanks to Dave Mustaine and Dave Ellefson’s overdue pairing with musicians of higher musical calibre in drummer Nick Menza and guitar shredder extraordinaire Marty Friedman. In Friedman, Mustaine, in particular, finally found a six-string foil whose talents were arguably even technically more polished than his own, and so Rust In Peace turned into an absolute master-class in heavy metal guitar playing.

Right off the bat, the bar was set incredibly high by the two-part classic, “Holy Wars… The Punishment Due” - the first, thrashing half of which was inspired by the ongoing religiously motivated conflicts in Northern Ireland, and the second, more deliberate and sinister half by the Punisher comic book character (beautifully inter-connected by a stunning Arabian run from Friedman).

By comparison, the next number, “Hangar 18”, is unusually linear, giving Rust In Peace its most radio-friendly offering, before the album once again enjoined its ambitious mission statement on the ruthlessly complex “Take No Prisoners” and occult-themed “Five Magics”. introduced by a memorable bass build-up from Ellefson.

Escalating steadily from the head-down, fists-up moshing of “Poison Was The Cure,” to the darkly melodic witchy tale of “Lucretia”, and then culminating in another high water mark in Megadeth’s career via the almost fretboard maelstrom of “Tornado Of Souls”, where Mustaine and Friedman jousted with almost superhuman intricacy surrounding the latter’s jaw-dropping solo break.

Beyond this, all that was left to do now was to wind down with the instrumental interlude, “Dawn Patrol”, and the closing apocalyptic statement of the once again two-dimensional “Rust in Peace… Polaris”.

Rust In Peace leaves you breathless by such frantic virtuosity, and most critics seemed to feel the same way, as they proceeded to ladle heaps of praise. Rust In Peace pushed into the Billboard 200’s Top 25, the U.K. Top 10, and onwards past the platinum sales plateau.

Most important of all, Rust In Peace finally showed Dave Mustaine what he was capable of, and that the sky was truly the limit for Megadeth, if only he could stay out of his own way. This realization led, in turn, to a period of unprecedented lineup stability for much of the ’90s, and a time that saw Megadeth unleashing consistently stellar albums - each of them special in its own peculiar way, but all of them moulded on the level-headed modus operandi that produced Rust in Peace.

Check out the tracks: “Holy Wars” and ”Hanger 18”. 

This reissued LP with reproduced original artwork is pressed in the USA on 180-gram audiophile vinyl via Capitol Records "From The Capitol Vaults Series".








Holy Wars… The Punishment Due



Hanger 18



Take No Prisoners



Five Magics



Poison Was The Cure






Tornado Of Souls



Dawn Patrol



Rust In Peace… Polaris


SKU 0077779193516
Record Label Capitol Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number EST 2132
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 30 October 2008
Original Release Date (Year) 24 September 1990
Barcode # 0077779193516
Shipping Weight 0.3350kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve, Reissue, "From The Capitol Vaults" Series, Replicated Artwork, Faithfully Restored
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Heavy Metal
Genre Thrash Metal

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category