Massive Attack v Mad Professor - No Protection

180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl Reissue + Digital Download

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

No Protection is a dub remix album by English trip-hop group Massive Attack, and dub producer Mad Professor, originally released in February 1995 by Virgin Records.

Only months after releasing Protection, Massive Attack took the unprecedented step of having the dub icon Mad Professor do this remixed version of the album. The difference is astonishing. Mad Professor has taken Massive Attack back to the source - dub - and in the process transformed Protection into a formidable, deeply rewarding challenge.

The revamped, newly extended intros are teasing foreplay with the deepened grooves (pumped-up bass, glorious percussive flourishes, spacey effects, crunching beats) heighten the melodies. Mad Professor spins off into Cocteau Twins territory by sampling voices and phrases, then detaching them from the familiar. He distils lyrics into their essence before discarding the husks of actual words. The unmasked emotion is the jumping-off point.

Nowhere is that more obvious than on the retooled title track. After the Professor slices, dices and modifies Thorn's performance, the simmering defiance that originally rang in her words of comfort is supplemented by desolation and unresolved tension. Her disembodied voice becomes a cry for help beneath the murk. And, yes, it's still sexy.

This is no mere exercise in knob-twiddling, the Professor explores these tunes very intimately and with reverence and yet strips them of almost all their original identity, creating something new. The paradox between the ethereal and the earthly is what Mad Professor has restored to the music. The result is sinewy, emotion-filled grooves that you can chill to, but you can't just shrug them off.

If you're a fan of the Massive Attack original, you'll be highly entertained by this very original and well-crafted musical meltdown. Top marks.

This reissued LP with digital download is pressed in Europe on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.








Radiation Ruling The Nation (based on Protection)



Bumper Ball Dub (based on Karmacoma)



Trinity Dub (based on Three)



Cool Monsoon (based on Weather Storm)



Eternal Feedback (based on Sly)



Moving Dub (based on Better Things)



I Spy (based on Spying Glass)



Backward Sucking (based on Heat Miser)


SKU 602557009637
Record Label Virgin Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 5700963
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 02 December 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 17 February 1995
Barcode # 602557009637
Shipping Weight 0.2900kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Digital Download Card, Reissue
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Electronic

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category