Massive Attack - Blue Lines

180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl Reissue + Digital Download

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Blue Lines is the debut studio album by English trip-hop group Massive Attack, originally released in April 1991 by Wild Bunch Records through Virgin Records.

Massive Attack are now very much a part of the mainstream, an outfit comfortably capable of selling out the nation’s biggest venues and with enough column inches of acclaim behind them to build a (rather flimsy, granted) ladder to the Moon. But at the time, Massive Attack were purveyors of a sound so new that it didn’t have a pigeonhole to fits its form – trip hop would not be coined for another few years, and this mash-up of dub, rap, reggae and soul caught attentions like few other releases of the time. It didn’t so much hold one by the collar as set fire to their shoes.

Blue Lines filtered American hip-hop through the lens of British club culture, a stylish, nocturnal sense of scene that encompassed music from rare groove to dub to dance. The album balances dark, diva-led club jams along with some of the best British rap (vocals and production) heard up to that point, occasionally on the same track.

The opener "Safe From Harm" is the best example, with diva vocalist Shara Nelson trading off lines with the group's own monotone (yet effective) rapping. Even more than hip-hop or dance, however, dub is the big touchstone on Blue Lines.

Most of the productions aren't quite as earthy as you'd expect, but the influence is palpable in the atmospherics of the songs, like the faraway electric piano on "One Love" (with beautiful vocals from the near-legendary Horace Andy). One track, "Five Man Army", makes the dub inspiration explicit, with a clattering percussion line, moderate reverb on the guitar and drums, and Andy's exquisite falsetto flitting over the chorus.

Blue Lines isn't all darkness, either - "Be Thankful For What You've Got" is quite close to the smooth soul tune conjured by its title, and "Unfinished Sympathy" - the group's first classic production - is a tremendously moving fusion of up-tempo hip-hop and dancefloor jam with slow-moving, syrupy strings.

Flaunting both their range and their tremendously evocative productions, Massive Attack recorded one of the best dance albums of all time.

This reissued LP with digital download is pressed in Europe on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.








Safe From Harm (Feat. Shara Nelson)



One Love (Feat. Horace Andy)



Blue Lines



Be Thankful For What You’ve Got (Feat. Tony Bryan)



Five Man Army (Feat. Horace Andy)



Unfinished Sympathy (Feat. Shara Nelson)



Daydreaming (Feat. Shara Nelson)



Lately (Feat. Shara Nelson)



Hymn On The Big Wheel (Feat. Horace Andy & Neneh Cherry)


SKU 602557009606
Record Label Virgin Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 5700960
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 02 December 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 08 April 1991
Barcode # 602557009606
Shipping Weight 0.3300kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Digital Download Card, Reissue
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Electronic

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category