INXS - Listen Like Thieves

180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl LP Record + Digital Download

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Listen Like Thieves is the fifth studio album by Australian rock band INXS, originally released in October 1985 via WEA Records in Australia, Atlantic Records in the US and Mercury Records in Europe.

INXS were formed as The Farriss Brothers in 1977 in Sydney, and began playing covers in Western Australian pubs and clubs, occasionally playing some of their original music. Mainstays of the band were main composer and keyboardist Andrew Farriss, drummer Jon Farriss, guitarists Tim Farriss and Kirk Pengilly, bassist Garry Gary Beers, and main lyricist and vocalist Michael Hutchence. Initially known for their new wave/pop style, INXS later developed a harder pub rock style that included funk and dance elements.

INXS first charted in 1980 with their self-titled debut, but later garnered moderate success in other countries with Shabooh Shoobah and a single, "The One Thing". Though The Swing brought more success from around the world, its single "Original Sin" was even greater commercially, becoming their first number-one single in Australia. They would later achieve international success with a series of hit recordings through later in the 1980s and the 1990s, including the albums Listen Like Thieves, Kick, and X, and the singles "What You Need", "Need You Tonight", "Devil Inside", "New Sensation", and "Suicide Blonde".

Listen Like Thieves was the band’s first album made with British producer Chris Thomas, who had produced acts such as The Pretenders, Procol Harum, Badfinger, Paul McCartney, Elton John, Roxy Music, Sex Pistols and Pulp.

Thomas bought a harder edge to their sound and this was the album that broke them into the international markets, particularly the US where the album would reach #11 on the US Billboard 200 Albums chart.

The first single “What You Need” gave them broke through in the US and UK and reached #2 in their home market, Australia.  “This Time” was also successful as the second single and was followed up by “Kiss The Dirt (Falling Down The Mountain)”. The fourth single “Listen Like Thieves” reached #12 in the US, cementing the commercial success for the album in this key overseas market.

This is a wonderful album by the band and showcases their song-writing talents as well as their musical and arranging prowess in building funky bass driven rhythms to drive a number of the tracks, such as “What You Need”, “Listen Like Thieves” and “Shine Like It Does”.

The album reached #1 in Australia and was the first album to chart in the UK, reaching #48 in that market.

Check out the tracks:  What You Need”; “This Time”; “Kiss The Dirt (Falling Down The Mountain)”; “Listen Like Thieves”; and “Shine Like It Does”.

This LP record is a “Back to Black” series 2017 reissue on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve with digital download code, pressed in Europe via Mercury Records.








What You Need



Listen Like Thieves



Kiss The Dirt (Falling Down The Mountain)



Shine Like It Does



Good + Bad Times



Biting Bullets



This Time



Three Sisters



Same Direction



One X One



Red Red Sun


SKU 602537778959
Record Label Mercury Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 0602537778959
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 10 November 2017
Original Release Date (Year) 14 October 1985
Barcode # 602537778959
Shipping Weight 0.3900kg
Shipping Width 0.008m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000789000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Original Album Artwork Replicated, Digital Download, Reissue, "Back to Black" Series
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock & Popular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category