Genesis - Wind & Wuthering

Limited 180 Gram Vinyl LP Record Remaster, EU Pressing

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Wind & Wuthering is the eighth studio album by English progressive rock band Genesis, originally released in December 1976 by Charisma Records.

If previous album A Trick Of The Tail had shown that Genesis were by no means a spent force without Peter Gabriel, Wind And Wuthering showed that they were if anything stronger. 

With more space for each band member to express themselves, Tony Banks was the one to take most advantage of this; composing or jointly composing most of the tracks, many of which are dominated by his keyboard work. One of his best ever pieces "One For The Vine" is here. It features some superb keyboards, and a tale which seeks to offer an imaginative explanation for some religious beliefs. Banks is quoted as saying that he put everything into this track, as some of the parts might have been dropped by the band had he offered them as separate pieces. The track is reminiscent in some ways of "White Mountain" from Trespass

"Eleventh Earl Of Mar" is a fairly typical Genesis opening track, upbeat with plenty of vocals, and a historical tale to tell. Mike Rutherford's "Your Own Special Way" is a rather mushy ballad, pleasant but a bit uninspired.

Steve Hackett's "Blood On The Rooftops" is a melancholy number, very atmospheric, and sympathetically sung by Collins who gives one of his finest performances here. 

Hackett's lead guitar only really comes to the fore on the lengthy three part closing track(s). This trilogy dominates the second side of the LP, being predominantly instrumental. The gradual build up and transition to "Afterglow" represents some of Genesis finest and most progressive work. On its own "Afterglow" would have been pleasant, but as part of this piece, it is a wonderful closer. 

There are many highly memorable Genesis moments on this album. Classic Genesis indeed! 

Unfortunately, Hackett would leave the band after this album, and then there were three.

Check out the tracks: “Your Own Special Way” and "Afterglow".

This Limited Edition LP with remastered audio and printed insert is pressed in Europe on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.








Eleventh Earl Of Mar



One For The Vine



Your Own Special Way



Wot Gorilla?



All In A Mouse’s Night



Blood On The Rooftops



Unquiet Slumber For The Sleepers…



…In That Quiet Earth





SKU 602547902207
Record Label Charisma Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 4790220
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 30 September 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 17 December 1976
Barcode # 602547902207
Shipping Weight 0.2900kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve, Reissue, Remastered Audio
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Progressive Rock
Genre Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category