Genesis - Invisible Touch

Limited 180 Gram Vinyl LP Record Remaster, EU Pressing

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

Invisible Touch is the thirteenth studio album by English progressive rock band Genesis, originally released in June 1986 by Virgin Records.

Genesis completed their full metamorphosis into a pure pop/rock outfit with Invisible Touch, the top selling album of the group’s long career which spawed five US Top 5 singles, making Genesis the only non-American act to accomplish that feat on a single album.

The group began work on Invisible Touch in late 1985, with the album’s tracks written entirely through group improvisations with no material pre-developed prior to the studio sessions.

The album explodes into full eighties synth glory with the opening title track. “Invisible Touch” features electronic drums and synths which complement the fretless bass and vocals. The popular song went on to be Genesis’s only #1 single in the United States. “Tonight, Tonight, Tonight” is another electronic song but with a slightly cool mechanical vibe due to Banks’s synth work. This track should have and could have been a much more effective opener and, even though the lyrics are nearly nonsensical, the musical effects carry this song through its eight and a half minute duration.

Land Of Confusion” is the most rock oriented song on the first side built with Rutherford’s guitar riff and a synth bass arpeggio by Banks. The fine bridge section also brings this song closest to the classic Genesis of years earlier. The fourth hit from side one, “In Too Deep” is a pure adult contemporary love ballad, featuring Banks on electric piano and Collins hitting some impressive high notes vocally. There is only the slightest guitar presence by Rutherford, who reserves his playing to a very laid back and standard bass throughout the track.

The second side starts with the frenzied and upbeat “Anything She Does”, about the porn business. The sound, complete with synth horns and ska-like rhythms, making this an overall fun song. The ten minute, two part suite “Domino” builds over the first part, “In The Glow Of The Night”, )a synth-driven, dramatic tune with almost paranoid lyrics), to second part, “The Last Domino”, with a driving rhythm and subtle, distant organ setting the soundscape.

The Top 5 hit “Throwing It All Away” features Rutherford’s soul-influenced guitar and Collins’s sweet but desperate vocal melody. Banks adds just the right amount of synths to make this a classic ballad.

Invisible Touch became the band’s fourth consecutive album to top the UK charts and peaked at No. 3 in the US. The group soon embarked on their largest world tour to support the album, playing over a hundred dates through 1986 and 1987.

Check out the tracks: “Invisible Touch”; “In Too Deep”; “Land Of Confusion”; “Tonight, Tonight, Tonight” and “Throwing It All Away”.

This Limited Edition LP record is a 2016 reissue with remastered audio and embossed cover is pressed in Europe on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.








Invisible Touch



Tonight, Tonight, Tonight



Land Of Confusion



In Too Deep



Anything She Does




Part One – In The Glow Of The Night

Part Two – The Last Domino



Throwing It All Away



The Brazillian


SKU 602547902054
Record Label Virgin Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 4790205
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 30 September 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 09 June 1986
Barcode # 602547902054
Shipping Weight 0.3050kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Embossed Album Sleeve, Printed Inner Sleeve, Reissue, Remastered Audio
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Progressive Rock
Genre Rock
Genre Pop Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category