Drive-By Truckers - The Unraveling

Black Vinyl LP Record

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

The Unraveling is the twelfth studio album by American southern rock band Drive-By Truckers, released in January 2020 via ATO Records.

Drive-By Truckers was cofounded in 1996 by Patterson Hood and long-time friend, former roommate, and musical partner Mike Cooley in Athens, Georgia. The band currently consists of Mike Cooley (lead vocals, guitar, banjo), Patterson Hood (lead vocals, guitar), Brad Morgan (drums), Jay Gonzalez (keys, guitar, accordion, backing vocals), and Matt Patton (bass guitar, backing vocals).

The songs on their new album The Unraveling are among Drive-By Truckers’ most direct and pointedly provocative, tackling the myriad horrors of our new normal through sincere emotion and unbridled heart.

This information is extracted from the band’s official website and press release announcing the release of the new album:

“Drive-By Truckers is kicking off the new election year with The Unraveling, our first new album in 3 1/2 years (the longest space between new DBT albums ever). Those years were among the most tumultuous our country has ever seen and the duality between the generally positive state of affairs within our band while watching so many things we care about being decimated and destroyed all around us informed the writing of this album to the core.

While a quick glance might imply that we're picking up where 2016's American Band album left off, the differences are as telling as the similarities. If the last one was a warning shot hinting at a coming storm, this one was written in the wreckage and aftermath. I've always said that all of our records are political but I've also said that ‘politics IS personal'. With that in mind, this album is especially personal.

Our 2018 single "The Perilous Night" acted as a sort of coda to the polemic of the last album and the original plan was to zigzag in a different direction, but alas the past few years have seen an uptick in school shootings, church shootings, racial violence, suicides and overdoses, border violence, and an assault on so many things that we all hold dear. They're literally putting children in cages. Writing silly love songs just seemed the height of privilege.

My partner Mike Cooley and I both worked through deep pools of writer's block. How do you put these day to day things we're all living through into the form of a song that we (much less anybody else) would ever want to listen to? How do you write about the daily absurdities when you can't even wrap your head around them in the first place? I think our response was to focus at the core emotional level. More heart and less cerebral perhaps.

Eventually the songs did come, some in mysterious ways...”

This album is on standard black vinyl with a printed insert / booklet, pressed in the US via ATO Records.








Rosemary With A Bible And A Gun



Armageddon's Back In Town



Slow Ride Argument



Thoughts And Prayers



21st Century USA



Heroin Again



Babies In Cages



Grievance Merchants



Awaiting Resurrection


SKU 880882388515
Record Label ATO Records
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number ATO0518LP
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 31 January 2020
Original Release Date (Year) 31 January 2020
Barcode # 880882388515
Shipping Weight 0.3400kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986000m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, Standard Black Vinyl, Printed Booklet
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock & Popular

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category