The White Stripes - White Blood Cells

180 Gram Vinyl LP Record Remaster + Digital Download

Sold Out

Calculate Shipping

White Blood Cells is the third studio album by American alternative rock duo The White Stripes, originally released in July 2001 via Sympathy For The Record Industry.

The White Stripes were founded in 1997 and consisted of husband and wife duo Jack White (songwriter, vocals, guitar, bass and keyboards) and Meg White (drums and occasional vocals). After releasing several singles and three albums within the Detroit music scene, The White Stripes rose to prominence in 2002, as part of the garage rock scene. Their successful and crucially acclaimed albums White Blood Cells and Elephant drew attention from a large variety of media outlets in the United States and the United Kingdom, with the single “Seven Nation Army” and its now iconic guitar line becoming a huge hit.

The duo were noted for their low-fidelity approach to writing and recording. Their music featured a melding of garage rock, blues influences and a raw simplicity of composition, arrangement and performance. The pair were also noted for their fashion and design aesthetic – a simple colour scheme of red and white, which was used on every album and single cover the band released.

White Blood Cells was recorded in less than a week at Easley-McCain Recordning in Memphis Tennessee, and produced by frontman and guitarist Jack White. Bolstered by the hit single “Fell In Love With A Girl”, the album propelled The White Stripes into early commercial popularity and critical success.

The band rehearsed for one week and began recording in February 2001. Meg White was initially hesitant to commence immediate recording, as she thought the songs were "too new." The album was recorded in less than four days, to try to keep it "as unorganized as possible," according to Jack.

The record's quick production was intentional in order to get "a real tense" feeling, as well as capture the band's energy. The record was "rushed" and a final day was saved for mixing and mastering the record; this was the first White Stripes album to be mastered in the studio. It was also the first time for the band recording in a 24-track recording studio, and Jack White asked recording engineer Stuart Sikes more than once "not to make it sound too good."

Continuing the stripped-down garage rock nature of the duo, White Blood Cells features less of the band's blues rock influences, instead displaying a more raw, basic, and primitive rock and roll sound. The album's lyrical themes, which were written by White over a period of four years, touch on themes relating to love, hope, betrayal, and paranoia.

Following a major label re-release on V2 Records in 2002, the album became promoted throughout the music press, bringing the band critical acclaim.

The album's cover art satirically parodies the amount of increasing mainstream popularity the band was receiving, which depicts the duo attacked by photographers.

Praised for its simplicity and straightforward sound and instrumentation, White Blood Cells set the stage for The White Stripes to breakthrough into the mainstream. It helped define the band's sound and shape the band's role in the garage rock revival of the early 2000s. In recent years, the album has been, along with the band's follow-up Elephant (2003), featured on several music publications' lists of the greatest albums of the 2000s as well as all-time.

Check out the album singles: Hotel Yorba; Fell In Love With A Girl; Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground and We’re Going To Be Friends.

This Limited LP on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl with printed insert and album digital download is pressed in the USA by Third Man Records in November 2010.








Dead Leaves And The Dirty Ground



Hotel Yorba



I’m Finding It Harder To Be A Gentleman



Fell In Love With A Girl






Little Room



The Union Forever



The Same Boy You’ve Always Known



We’re Going To Be Friends



Offend In Every Way



I Think I Smell A Rat






I Can’t Wait



Now Mary



I Can Learn



This Protector


SKU 093624959472
Record Label Third Man Records
Label / Model # Inertia
Catalogue Number TMR 033
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 30 November 2010
Original Release Date (Year) 03 July 2001
Barcode # 093624959472
Shipping Weight 0.3550kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Remastered, Printed Insert, Digital Download
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Blues Rock
Genre Indie Rock
Genre Garage Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

We Also Recommend

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category