Tarja - The Brightest Void

Limited 180 Gram Vinyl LP Record + Digital Download Code

Imported by Captain Stomp

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

The Brightest Void is an EP by Finnish symphonic metal artist Tarja Turunen, released in June 2016 via earMUSIC.

TARJA is inarguably one of Finland’s brightest stars in the rock scene. From the moment she could talk TARJA knew music was in her blood and singing was her tool, as most metalheads know she first gained fame via being lead vocalist of Finnish symphonic metal NIGHTWISH and became one of the pioneers of this new genre of opera metal. Since being dismissed from the band in 2005 her solo career has blossomed and developed beautifully; with three rock studio albums, two classical albums, three live albums, a number of projects and many live shows on a worldwide scale it is more than safe to she is doing impeccably well.

Tarja never does things halfway. This "prequel" to The Shadow Self album released a few months later her upcoming full-length, comprises new songs, covers, and a new mix, with some guest appearances tossed in. This album is a beautiful specimen that showcases Tarja’s incredibly sirenesque voice.

Single and opening track "No Bitter End" is the video version - slick, anthemic, pop-oriented metal, it has an irresistible hook. Tarja's stacked lead and backing vocals imbue it with a studied emotion that stands in contrast to its passionate melody. The eerie track “An Empty Dream” is a great example; its musical arrangements including choirs and piano, make it incredibly haunting, with her vocal work fusing together with these arrangements magnificently.

Michael Monroe lends his voice, guitar, saxophone, and harmonica to "Your Heaven And Your Hell", a fine, bluesy hard rock vehicle for the former Hanoi Rocks frontman. Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith adds his drums to "Eagle Eye", a pop-metal cut that the vocalist imbues with a theatrical presence.

Tarja gets points for her choice of covers here. Her rendition of Paul McCartney's "House Of Wax" contains more drama than the original but doesn't sacrifice nuance in the imaginative melody and arrangement. Buoyed by a large string ensemble, the singer delivers the song with authority. It's her brand of symphonic metal at its best. Even stranger is the reading of the theme from "Goldfinger" immortalised by Shirley Bassey. The contrast between the fat, crunchy guitars and symphonic strings and horns comes off kitschy but cool, leaving the more sultry jazz presentation of the original in the dust. Yet Tarja's singular voice pulls it all together in the end.

The bombastic new mix of Within Temptation's "Paradise (What About Us?)" – includes killer guitar breaks and the vocal contrast between Sharon den Andel's powerful alto and Tarja's soaring soprano harmony is arresting.

Overall it is safe to say that fans will not be disappointed with this new spectacular release.

Check out the tracks: “No Bitter End” and " Paradise (What About Us?)".

This Limited Edition 8 Track 12” EP includes a digital download and is pressed in Europe on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve.








No Bitter End (Video Clip Version)



Your Heaven And Your Hell (Feat. Michael Monroe)



Eagle Eye (Feat. Chad Smith)



An Empty Dream



Witch Hunt






House Of Waxx






Paradise (What About Us) (Feat. Within Temptation)


SKU 4029759110736
Record Label earMusic
Label / Model # Edel
Catalogue Number 0211073EMU
Country DE - Germany
Release Date (Year) 03 June 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 03 June 2016
Barcode # 4029759110736
Shipping Weight 0.3400kg
Shipping Width 0.008m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000789m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Digital Download
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Hard Rock
Genre Symphonic Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category