Soundtrack - Sound City - Real To Reel

Special Edition 2LP 180 Gram Vinyl + Digital Download

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Sound City – Real To Reel is the official soundtrack of Dave Groel’s Sound City documentary, released in March 2013 by Roswell Records.

Dave Grohl's great documentary, Sound City, tells the story of the "dumpy" L.A. recording studio where a stunning number of rock worthies – including Neil Young, Fleetwood Mac, Tom Petty, Cheap Trick, and Nirvana – made historic albums. It's also a burnt offering to the pretty much dead religion of pre-digital record-crafting – what Grohl calls "the human element" in rock.

Sound City closed in 2011, and Grohl not only wound up purchasing the studio's Neve mixing board, he made his film as a tribute to this golden age of rock and, then, decided to make an accompanying album of all-new songs using that board in his own home studio, finalising his salute to the golden age of analog.

Grohl brought in friends and colleagues, including his long-time jam partner Josh Homme, then invited a bunch of Sound City veterans like Rick Springfield, Stevie Nicks, and Cheap Trick's Rick Nielsen to cut new songs. He also roped in Paul McCartney to play with Krist Novoselic and Pat Smear, (the surviving members of Nirvana), a nifty coup that earned the project tons of publicity and resulted in a good little rocker called "Cut Me Some Slack".

It's not the only tune here with an immediate hook or melody - Nicks' "You Can't Fix This" isn't bad, Lee Ving's "Your Wife Is Calling" conjures a bit of Fear, and Rick Springfield's "The Man That Never Was" is excellent - but it's one of only a handful, as the rest of Sound City: Real To Reel sounds exactly like what it is: a bunch of old rockers jamming in a studio.

It is telling that the songs that do really catch hold all come from survivors of the golden age of classic rock, musicians who can knock out a well-sculpted song without too much effort, and that is as much a testament to the heyday of Sound City as the soundtrack itself.

Check out the tracks: “Cut Me Some Slack”; “You Can’t Fix This” and “Cetipede”. 

This Special Edition double LP housed in a gatefold sleeve with printed inners and digital download is pressed in the USA on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl.









Heaven And Ali

Robert Levon Been, Dave Grohl, Peter Hayes



Time Slowing Down

Chris Goss, Tim Commerford, Dave Grohl, Brad Wilk



You Can’t Fix This

Stevie Nicks, Dave Grohl, Taylor Wawkins, Rami Jaffee



The Man That Never Was

Rick Springfield, Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Chris Shiflett, Pat Smear



Your Wife Is Calling

Lee Ving, Dave Crohl, Taylor Hawkins, Alain Johannes, Pat Smear



From Can To Can’t

Corey Taylor, Dave Grohl, Rick Nielson, Scott Reeder




Josh Honne, Chris Goss, Dave Grohl, Johannes Johannes,



A Trick with No Sleeve

Johannes Johannes, Dave Grohl, Josh Homme



Cut Me Some Slack

Paul McCartney, Dave Grohl, Krist Novoselic, Pat Smear



If I Were me

Dave Grohl, Jesse Greene, Rami Jaffee, Jim Keltner




Dave Grohl, Josh Homme, Trent Reznor


SKU 887654499219
Record Label Roswell Records
Label / Model # Sony
Catalogue Number 88765 44992 1
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 12 March 2013
Original Release Date (Year) 12 March 2013
Barcode # 887654499219
Shipping Weight 0.7200kg
Shipping Width 0.010m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000986m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Double Album 2LP Records, 180 Gram Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Printed Inner Sleeves, Digital Download Code, Special Edition
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Pop Rock
Genre Soundtrack

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category