Soundtrack - Orange Is The New Black

Music From The Original Series - Orange Vinyl LP Record

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Orange Is the New Black is the soundtrack album from the first series of the American comedy-drama series created by Jenji Kohan, released in May 2014 via Universal Music Enterprises.

Orange Is the New Black is an American comedy-drama web television series created by Jenji Kohan. The series, produced by Tilted Productions in association with Lionsgate Television, is based on Piper Kerman's memoir, Orange Is the New Black: My Year in a Women's Prison (2010), about her experiences at FCI Danbury, a minimum-security federal prison. Orange Is the New Black is streamed on Netflix, and premiered in July 2013. The series has become Netflix most watched original series and has run for a fourth season in 2016, and has been renewed for a fifth, sixth and seventh season.

The soundtrack was released to coincide with the release of the Orange is the new Black: Season One on DVD and Blu-Ray.

The soundtrack includes the Grammy-nominated theme song, You've Got Time, by Regina Spektor, as well as songs by Kelis, The Velvet Underground, Nico and more.

The soundtrack was released in three configurations: CD, digital and a special edition first-run in orange vinyl. 

You've Got Time was written specifically for Orange Is the New Black by Regina Spektor, who was approached by the show's creator, Jenji Kohan. Kohan said, “I listened to Regina’s albums obsessively while writing the series, so I immediately thought of her for our theme song".

Kohan gave Spektor access to watch rough edits of the episodes while the first season was still in production. Spektor said she composed the song while "thinking about the idea of what it must be like to be in prison and the different states of mind." After recording the song with producer Rob Cavallo, she brought the demo to Kohan, initially apprehensive that Kohan would not like it. "We took out the rough mix and listened to it with headphones and sort of held our breath, like, 'Is she going to like it?' And then she said, 'This is fucking awesome, I love it! It’s going to fit really well!'.

You've Got Time was nominated in the Best Song Written for Visual Media category at the 56th Annual Grammy Awards. It was Spektor's first Grammy nomination.

This is the Limited Edition First-Run Orange Vinyl edition, pressed in the US.









You've Got Time

Regina Spektor


Walkin Up The Road

Betty Davis


Move And Groove Together

Benny Latimore





I'll Take You There

The Staple Singers





Walking Backwards




Little Foot Long Foot


Sunday Morning

The Velvet Underground & Nico


Living This Life Makes It Hard

The Duchess And The Duke



Nancy Cassidy


Baby Face

Whispering Jack Smith

SKU 600753485699
Record Label Universal Music Enterprises
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number B0020411-01
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 13 May 2014
Original Release Date (Year) 13 May 2014
Barcode # 600753485699
Shipping Weight 0.2350kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Orange Vinyl LP Record, First Run Pressing
Vinyl Colour Orange
Genre Soundtrack
Genre Stage & Screen
Genre Pop Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category