Roxy Music - Country Life

Limited 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Reissue, US Pressing

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Country Life is the fourth studio album by English art rock band Roxy Music, originally released in November 1974 via Island Records.

Roxy Music were formed in 1971 by lead singer Bryan Ferry and bassist Graham Simpson, and saxophonist Andy Mackay after Ferry advertised for a keyboard player to work with the pair, following his sacking from ceramics teaching after holding impromptu record listening sessions. Brian Eno (a university friend of Mackay) joined soon after as a technical advisor, followed by Paul Thompson on drums, and when guitarist David O'List quit the band after an altercation with Thompson, roadie Phil Manzanera was invited to replace him.

Roxy Music attained popular and critical success in Europe and Australia during the 1970s and early 1980s, with three UK No. 1 albums (StrandedFlesh and Blood, and Avalon), six UK gold albums, and their best-selling album Avalon, which earned Platinum certification in the US and the UK. The band was highly influential as pioneers of the more experimental, musically sophisticated, elements of glam rock, and significantly influenced early English punk music, providing a model for new wave and the experimental electronic groups of the early 1980s. Rolling Stone magazine ranked Roxy Music No. 98 on its "The Immortals – 100 The Greatest Artists of All Time" list.


Country Life was produced by John Punter and Chris Thomas (The Beatles, Pink Floyd, Queen) and was recorded at George Martin's AIR Studios in London. The album is considered by many critics to be among the band's most sophisticated and consistent, and earned critical praise upon its release, with Rolling Stone's Jim Miller writing: "Stranded and Country Life together mark the zenith of contemporary British art rock" and Country Life reaching No. 3 on the UK charts and No. 37 on the US Billboard 200. 

The album track Prairie Rose is an ode to Texas and one of its daughters, Jerry Hall, who would later appear on the cover of their next album Siren (1975).

The album cover art features a phtograph of two scantily-clad models, Constanze Karoli and Eveline Grunwald, whom Bryan Ferry had met in Portugal. They also assisted Bryan on the lyrics to the song Bitter Sweet. The album artwork was controversial in some countries, such as the United States, where it was censored from 1975 to 1980. Some have referred to this as the "most complete cover-up in rock history".

In 2003, the album was ranked number 387 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time, along with For Your Pleasure, Siren, and Avalon.

The album's release was preceeded by three singles: "Out of the Blue", "All I Want Is You", and "The Thrill of It All". Also:  Prairie Rose and Bitter Sweet.

This LP Record is a Reissue "From The Capitol Vaults Series" on 180 Gram Audiophile Quality Vinyl housed in a Gatefold Sleeve with Giant Fold-Out Poster, pressed in the US via Virgin Records.








The Thrill Of It All



Three And Nine



All I Want Is You



Out Of The Blue



If It Takes All Night












A Really Good Time



Prairie Rose



SKU 5099924364911
Record Label Virgin Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number 509992 43649 1 1
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 16 June 2009
Original Release Date (Year) 15 November 1974
Barcode # 5099924364911
Shipping Weight 0.4150kg
Shipping Width 0.007m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000690m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Audiophile Quality Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve, Giant Fold-Out Poster, "From The Capitol Vaults" series, Reissue
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Pop Rock
Genre Art Rock
Genre Classic Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category