Iron Maiden - Brave New World

Double Album 2LP 180 Gram Vinyl Reissue

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Brave New World is the twelfth studio album by British heavy metal band Iron Maiden, released in May 2000 by EMI Records.

The return of Iron Maiden's "classic" Dickinson/Harris/Murray/Smith/McBrain line-up (plus third guitarist Janick Gers) in 1999 led to an incredibly successful world tour that saw the New Wave of British Heavy Metal legends commanding stages with the same unmitigated power and authority as they had during their mid-'80s heyday.

But the question remained as to whether the reconstituted group would be able to carry this momentum into a studio setting and recapture the songwriting chops of its glory years. This question made Brave New World one of the most highly anticipated metal releases of 2000, and thankfully, the eventual answer to that question was a resounding "YES!" In fact, the album pretty much picked up right where the "classic" lineup had left off on 1988's Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son: with a faithful rediscovery of Iron Maiden's best-loved sonic aesthetic and compositional quirks, updated only insofar as was necessary to measure up to new-millennium recording standards.

In every other respect, Brave New World's meticulously orchestrated three-guitar attack still allowed for a greater sense of space than early Iron Maiden albums (as well as the use of subtle keyboard textures in a supporting role), while boasting a beefier, in-your-face mix à la Piece Of Mind or Powerslave.

The remarkable pipes of singer Bruce Dickinson actually seemed to have benefited from a less grueling touring schedule over the previous decade, and his renewed songwriting partnership with bassist Steve Harris (and other assorted band members) yielded several new Iron Maiden live standards such as punchy first single, "The Wicker Man", and the positively anthemic title track.

Also worthy of special mention were Harris' emotional solo effort, "Blood Brothers". Adrian Smith's distinctive solo licks throughout "The Fallen Angel", and six-string stalwart Dave Murray's Middle Eastern flavoured contributions to "The Nomad".

Brave New World‘s excellence is undeniable, and announced not only Iron Maiden's triumphant return, but an important turning point in heavy metal's long, arduous climb back to respectability after years of critical abuse.

Check out the tracks: “The Wicker Man” and “Out Of The Silent Planet”.

This 2017 reissued double LP housed in a gatefold sleeve with remastered audio is pressed in Europe on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl by Parlophone Records.








The Wicker Man



Ghost Of The Navigator



Brave New World



Blood Brothers



The Mercenary



Dream Of Mirrors



The Fallen Angel



The Nomad



Out Of The Silent Planet



The Thin Line Between Love And Hate


SKU 0190295851989
Record Label Parlophone Records
Label / Model # Warner
Catalogue Number 0190295851989
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 23 June 2017
Original Release Date (Year) 29 May 2000
Barcode # 0190295851989
Shipping Weight 0.5950kg
Shipping Width 0.012m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.001183m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Double Album 2LP Records, 180 Gram Heavyweight Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Printed Inner Sleeves, Reissue, Remastered Audio
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Rock
Genre Hard Rock
Genre Heavy Metal

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category