Icehouse - Man of Colours

25th Anniversary Reissue on Blue Vinyl

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Man Of Colours is the 6th studio album from Australian rock synth-pop band Icehouse, originally released in September 1987 via Regular Records.

Formed as Flowers in Sydney in 1977, and initially known in Australia for their pub rock style, Icehouse later achieved mainstream success playing new wave and synth-pop music, attaining chart success in both Europe and the U.S. The mainstay of both Flowers and Icehouse has been Iva Davies (singer-songwriter, record producer, guitar, bass, keyboards, oboe) supplying additional musicians as required. 

Davies and Icehouse extended the use of synthesizers particularly the Sequential Circuits Prophet-5 ("Love in Motion", 1981),  the Linn drum machine ("Hey Little Girl", 1982), and the Fairlight CMI (Razorback trailer, 1983) in Australian popular music. This iconic status and contribution to Australian music did not go unnoticed however, and the band were inducted into the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Hall of Fame in August 2006, describing Icehouse as "one of the most successful Australian bands of the eighties and nineties... With an uncompromising approach to music production they created songs that ranged from pure pop escapism to edgy, lavish synthesised pieces...". 

Icehouse has produced eight top ten albums and twenty top forty singles in Australia, multiple top ten hits in Europe and North America and album sales of over 28x Platinum in Australia alone. 

Man of Colours was recorded between February and May 1987 at E.M.I. Studios 301, Trash Studios (both in Sydney), and Crescent Studios in England, and was produced by David Lord (Noted for his work on Peter Gabriel’s 1982 self-titled album, and for running a brothel out of his £500,000 home). For the recording of the album, Iva Davies was joined by Robert Kretschmer (guitars), Andy Qunta (keyboards, piano), Simon Lloyd (reeds, brass, keyboards, programming), Stephen Morgan (bass guitar), and Paul Wheeler (drums, percussion).

The release of Man of Colours and its singles marked the zenith of Icehouse's commercial success, both locally and internationally, peaking at #1 on the Australian album chart for 11 weeks, and being the first Australian album to supply five top 30 hit singles: "Crazy" (3# in July), "Electric Blue" (co-written by Davies and John Oates of US band Hall & Oates) (#1, October), "My Obsession" (#5, December), "Man of Colours" (#28, February 1988), and "Nothing Too Serious" (#29, May 1988). 

"Crazy" reached #14 on the Billboard Hot 100 and #10 on its Mainstream Rock chart, and "Electric Blue" reached #7 on Hot 100, and #10 on Mainstream singles, with the album Man of Colours reaching #43 on the Billboard 200. 

Check out the album's singles "Crazy", "Electric Blue", "My Obsession", "Man of Colours", and "Nothing Too Serious"

This is a repressing of the 25th Anniversary reissue on Blue coloured Vinyl with a Printed Inner Sleeve, pressed in Australia.









Electric Blue



Nothing Too Serious                 



Man Of Colours



Heartbreak Kid



The Kingdom



My Obsession



Girl In The Moon



Anybody's War




SKU 0602527975795
Record Label Diva Records
Label / Model # Universal
Catalogue Number DIVAU100525B
Country AU - Australia
Release Date (Year) 13 July 2012
Original Release Date (Year) 21 September 1987
Barcode # 0602527975795
Shipping Weight 0.2900kg
Shipping Width 0.005m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000493m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Repressing of the 25th Anniversary Reissue, Blue Vinyl, Printed Inner Sleeve
Vinyl Colour Blue
Genre Pop Rock
Genre Electronic
Genre Synth-Pop

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

More From This Category