Dream Theater - Octavarium

On Vinyl For The First Time!

Imported by Captain Stomp

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Octavarium is the eighth studio album by American progressive rock / metal band Dream Theater, released in June 2005 by Atlantic Records.

With Octavarium, the band decided to create "a classic Dream Theater album", drawing upon their various stylistic influences while trying to make the music less complex.

The album takes as its creative concept the musical octave. When starting to work on the album Portnoy noted that it would be their eighth studio album and that they had recently released their fifth live album. This sequence mirrored the octave on a musical keyboard, each octave containing eight naturals and five accidentals.

When writing, the band delegated each song a different key. Sound effects were placed between songs to connect them. For example, The Root Of All Evil is written in F, and the following track, The Answer Lies Within, written in G, were connected by a sound effect in the key of F#.

The Root Of All Evil is the third part of Portnoy's Twelve-step suite, a set of songs from various Dream Theater albums which describe his journey through Alcoholics Anonymous. The song contains parts six and seven of the suite, Ready and Remove. The Answer Lies Within and I Walk Beside You are the two shortest tracks on the album. Rudess regards them as radio-friendly songs which still maintain Dream Theater's style.

Portnoy wrote the lyrics to Never Enough as a response to fans who Portnoy perceived to complain about every thing that Dream Theater did.

Sacrificed Sons, at just over ten minutes long, is the second-longest song on the album. Its lyrics, written by vocalist James LaBrie, deal with the September 11. When working on the lyrics, LaBrie said that there was "a lot of discussion" about the song's wording and how direct it should be.

The title track Octavarium with its five parts, is the longest track on the album, at 24:00. Petrucci stated that the band wanted to write an epic song that thematically developed and would use an orchestra.

Octavarium was the band’s last album with Atlantic Records and holds the distinction of being the last album ever recorded at The Hit Factory in New York City.

This album is now available on vinyl for the first time!

This Double LP set on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl is housed on a gatefold sleeve with lyric insert and is pressed in Europe.









The Root Of All Evil



  • Vi. Ready



  • VII. Remove



The Answer Lies Within



These Walls



I Walk Beside You



Panic Attack



Never Enough



Sacrificed Sons






  • I. Someone Like Him



  • II. Medicate (Awakening)



  • III. Full Circle



  • IV. Intervals



  • V. Razor’s Edge


SKU 081227965617
Record Label Atlantic Records
Label / Model # Warner
Catalogue Number 8122796561
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 05 September 2013
Original Release Date (Year) 07 June 2005
Barcode # 081227965617
Shipping Weight 0.5500kg
Shipping Width 0.008m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000789m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition Double Album 2LP on 180 Gram Vinyl with Gatefold Sleeve and Insert with Lyrics
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Progressive Rock
Genre Hard Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

Others Also Bought

More From This Category