DIIV - Is The Is Are

Double LP With Two 12 Page 12"x12" Lyric + Art Booklets

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Is the Is Are is the second studio album by American indie rock band DIIV, released in February2016 via Captured Tracks.

DIIV are an American rock band from Brooklyn, New York City, formed in 2011. The band consists of Zachary Cole Smith (vocals, guitar), Andrew Bailey (guitar), Devin Ruben Perez (bass), Colin Caulfield (keyboards, guitar) and Ben Newman (drums).

Initially called Dive, the band started as Smith's solo recording project. After releasing three singles - Sometime, Human and Geist - on Captured Tracks, DIIV released its debut full-length album, Oshin, in June 2012. In 2016, the band released its second studio album, Is the Is Are, after a lengthy and troubled gestation period.

Self-produced by vocalist and guitarist Zachary Cole Smith, the album was recorded at Strange Weather Recording Studio and The Bunker, in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. It was preceded by the singles, Dopamine, Bent (Roi's Song), Under the Sun and Is the Is Are.

Work on Is the Is Are began in 2013, a year following the release of the band's debut album, Oshin. Its recording, however, was plagued by various factors, including, failed recording sessions with Girls' Chet "JR" White; Smith's drug addiction and eventual arrest; controversy surrounding online remarks made by bass guitarist Devin Ruben Perez; and the eventual departure of drummer Colby Hewitt, due to his own drug addiction.

According to Smith, the album was inspired by his experiences since the release of Oshin, including his arrest for drug possession as well as the following media scrutiny he and Ferreira endured. DIIV intended to explore rock music in new ways, with Smith saying: "We're making non-traditional choices when it comes to rock music. Rock is so thoroughly explored in every way; I still think there's room to make it interesting. That guitar-based DIIV sound is still there, but we've expanded its parameters".

Is the Is Are received mostly positive reviews from contemporary music critics. At Metacritic, which assigns a normalized rating out of 100 to reviews from mainstream critics, the album received an average score of 71, based on 24 reviews, which indicates "generally favorable reviews".

Writing for Pitchfork, Ian Cohen gave the album a positive review, praising its scope and lyrical content: "Is the Is Are doesn’t engage in fantasy or open up new worlds — it builds a nearly impenetrable wall around the self. Call it Requiem for a Dream-pop, dedicated to a gorgeous yet unglamorous portrayal of addiction."

The album reached #81 on the US Billboard 200 Albums chart.

Check out a couple of tracks from the album:  Out of Mind, Bent (Roi's Song), Under the Sun, Dopamine, Valentine and Dust.

This is a Double Album 2LP Vinyl Record set with printed inner sleeves, two 12 page 12"x12" lyric and art books and digital download card, pressed in the US.






Out Of Mind



Under The Sun



Bent (Roi's Song)






Blue Boredom (Sky's Song)       






Yr Not Far



Take Your Time



Is The Is Are



Mire (Grant's Song)



Incarnate Devil






Healthy Moon



Loose Ends









Waste Of Breath


SKU 817949011697
Record Label Captured Tracks
Label / Model # Independent
Catalogue Number CT-231
Country US - United States
Release Date (Year) 05 February 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 05 February 2016
Barcode # 817949011697
Shipping Weight 0.5850kg
Shipping Width 0.009m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000887m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition 2LP Vinyl, Two Page 12"x12" Lyric+Art Booklets, Includes Download
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Indie / Alternative
Genre Shogaze

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category