Depeche Mode - A Broken Frame

180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Remaster

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

A Broken Frame is the second studio album by English electronic band Depeche Mode, originally released in September 1982 via Mute Records.

Depeche Mode are an English electronic band that formed in 1980. The group's original line-up consisted of Dave Gahan (lead vocals, occasional songwriter since 2005), Martin Gore (keyboards, guitar, vocals, main songwriter after 1981), Andy Fletcher (keyboards), and Vince Clarke (keyboards, main songwriter from 1980 to 1981).

Depeche Mode released their debut album in 1981, Speak & Spell, bringing the band onto the British new wave scene. Clarke left the band after the release of the album, leaving the band as a trio to record A Broken Frame, released the following year. Gore took over lead songwriting duties and, later in 1982, Alan Wilder (keyboards, drums, occasional songwriter) officially joined the band to fill Clarke's spot, establishing a line up that would continue for the next thirteen years. Following Wilder’s departure in 1995, Depeche Mode have continued as a trio of Gore, Gahan and Fletcher. They have had fifty songs in the UK Singles Chart and thirteen top 10 albums in the UK chart; they have sold over 100 million records worldwide.

Martin Gore has famously noted that Depeche Mode stopped worrying about its future when the first post Vince Clarke departure single, "See You", placed even higher on the English charts than anything else Clarke had done with them. Such confidence carries through all of A Broken Frame, a notably more ambitious effort than the pure pop/disco of the band's debut.

With arranging genius Alan Wilder still one album away from fully joining the band, A Broken Frame became very much Gore's record, writing all the songs and exploring various styles never again touched upon in later years. "Satellite" and "Monument" take distinct dub/reggae turns, while "Shouldn't Have Done That" delivers its slightly precious message about the dangers of adulthood with a spare arrangement and hollow, weirdly sweet vocals.

Much of the album follows in a dark vein, forsaking earlier sprightliness, aside from tracks like "A Photograph Of You" and "The Meaning Of Love", for more melancholy reflections about love gone wrong as "Leave In Silence" and "My Secret Garden".

More complex arrangements and juxtaposed sounds, such as the sparkle of breaking glass in "Leave In Silence", help give this underrated album even more of an intriguing, unexpected edge. Gore's lyrics are sometimes simple, but David Gahan's singing comes more clearly to the fore throughout - things aren't all there yet, but they were definitely starting to get close.

The album reached #8 in the UK Albums chart and #177 on the US Billboard 200 Albums chart.

Check out the tracks: “See You”; “The Meaning Of Love” and “Leave In Silence”.

This 2016 remastered LP "Legacy Vinyl Series" on 180 gram heavyweight vinyl housed in a gatefold sleeve, with reproduced artwork is pressed in Europe.









Leave In Silence



My Secret Garden






Nothing To Fear



See You






The Meaning Of Love



A Photograph Of You



Shouldn’t Have Done That



The Sun & The Rainfall


SKU 889853299317
Record Label Mute Records
Label / Model # Sony
Catalogue Number 88985329931
Country EU - Europe
Release Date (Year) 26 August 2016
Original Release Date (Year) 27 September 1982
Barcode # 889853299317
Shipping Weight 0.4000kg
Shipping Width 0.008m
Shipping Height 0.314m
Shipping Length 0.314m
Shipping Cubic 0.000789m3
Type New
Format Limited Edition LP Record, 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl, Gatefold Sleeve, Remastered, "Legacy Vinyl" Series
Vinyl Colour Black
Genre Electronic
Genre Synth-Pop
Genre Pop Rock

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Captain Stomp Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

You May Also Like

Others Also Bought

More From This Category